Europe and the world: Strauss, Berio, Scelsi

Monday 16 April 2018,
Room 18

This event is fully booked

The festival is organised by the British Museum and the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden and made possible by the Federal Foreign Office of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Recommend this event

This opening concert encapsulates the essence of the festival, which explores Europe’s relationship with the world. It brings together three extraordinary works.

Metamorphosen, Richard Strauss’ 1945 commentary on the challenges of western civilisation, is performed by the London Sinfonietta in a version for seven instruments. Recital for Cathy, Luciano Berio’s preoccupation with the meaning of the codes of European music when used in a ritual-like context, is performed by mezzo soprano Susan Bickley. Xnoybis, Giacinto Scelsi’s intense meditation on Buddhist thought and culture, is performed by violinist Diego Tosi. Experience these works in the beautiful surroundings of the Parthenon Gallery.

Richard Strauss (1864–1949)
Metamorphosen (realisation for string septet)

Luciano Berio (1925–2003)
Recital for Cathy

Giacinto Scelsi (1905–1988)

London Sinfonietta
Geoffrey Paterson conductor
Susan Bickley mezzo soprano
John Constable piano
Diego Tosi violin
Lucy Bradley director

The London Sinfonietta is one of the world’s leading contemporary music ensembles. Formed in 1968, the group’s commitment to making new music has seen it commission 400 works and premiere hundreds more. Its ethos today is to constantly experiment with an ever-changing art form, bringing together the best musicians, composers and artists to create excellent, risk-taking work. Resident at Southbank Centre and Artistic Associate at Kings Place, with a busy touring schedule across the UK and abroad, the London Sinfonietta’s core eighteen Principal Players represent some of the best musicians in the world.

You might also like


London Sinfonietta © Kevin Leighton