Backes & Strauss Ltd (Biographical details)

Backes & Strauss Ltd (manufacturer/factory; goldsmith/metalworker; merchant/tradesman; British; 1789)

Also known as

Backes & Strauss Ltd; J F Backes & Co; J F Backes & Sons

Address

30 St. James's Street, Mayfair SW1A 1HB

Biography

Merchants of precious stones and fine watches. Originally founded in Hanau, Germany as a manufacturing jewellers and dealers in precious stones. A London office was established in 1814. Examples of the company's jewellery were showcased at the Great Exhibition of 1851. By 1874, the firm was trading as Backes & Strauss. The company hallmark was registered at Goldsmiths' Hall in London in 1878. Prior to the discovery of an Assyrian-style bracelet, now in the British Museum, no surviving pieces of jewellery could be securely attributed to the firm. The manufacturing side of the firm ceased by 1892.

Bibliography

J. Culme, 'The Directory of Goldsmiths & Silversmiths: Jewellers & Allied Traders, 1838-1914' (London, 1987)
J. Rudoe, 'Assyrian-Style Jewellery' in The Antique Collector, April 1989