drawing

View of the Drachenfels and Godesberg; a plain bisected by a road on which are two women walking, two small hills surmounted by ruins in the mid-distance, a range of mountains (Siebengebirge) beyond Pen and brown ink and brown and grey wash, with watercolour

AN207810001001

© The Trustees of the British Museum

Department: Prints & Drawings

Registration number: Gg,2.265

Bibliographic reference
Sumowski 1979 continuing 404
Hind 1915-31 5
Royalton-Kisch 2010 Doomer.8

Location:
Dutch Roy XVIIc

Back to search results

Back to catalogue

Object types
drawing (scope note | all objects)

Materials
paper (all objects)
Techniques
drawn (scope note | all objects)
Production person
Drawn by Lambert Doomer (biographical details | all objects)
Date
1637-1700
Schools /Styles
Dutch (scope note | all objects)


Description
View of the Drachenfels and Godesberg; a plain bisected by a road on which are two women walking, two small hills surmounted by ruins in the mid-distance, a range of mountains (Siebengebirge) beyond, 1663

Pen and brown ink with watercolour.

Verso: laid down on old mat.

No watermark visible.

Inscriptions
Inscription Content: Inscribed lower centre, by the artist, in pen and brown ink (somewhat indistinctly): ‘goddes [?]’; on the mat, in pen and brown ink, by an early hand: ‘Doomer’; on verso of mat, in pen and brown ink, Cracherode's initials, ‘CMC’, with the date ‘1787’.


Dimensions
Height: 234 millimetres
Width: 357 millimetres (chain lines horizontal, 24/26mm apart)


Condition
Good.

Curator's comments
See Hind for details of a similar drawing.

Entry from Martin Royalton-Kisch, 'Catalogue of drawings by Rembrandt and his school', 2010, Lambert Doomer, cat. no.8:

The drawing dates from 1663, the year of Doomer's Rhine journey (see cat. no.5, Oo,10.173). The view shows the ruins of Godesburg to the right of centre, with those of the castle on the Drachenfels to the left (the Rhine flowing between them is not visible). The continuation of the Siebengebirge is seen in the distance. Godesburg, founded in around 1210 by Dietrich von Hengsbach, Archbishop of Cologne, was enlarged in the fourteenth century and occupied, in 1583, by Dutch troops in the service of Gebhard Truchsess von Manfeld. It was later destroyed by Duke Ferdinand of Bavaria, Archbishop of Cologne from 1612-50. The castle of Drachenfels, begun in 1147 and founded by Arnold, Archbishop of Cologne, was extended in the fifteenth century, but was in ruins during much of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Occupied by the Swedes in 1633, Duke Ferdinand demolished it in 1634 and most of the remains collapsed in 1788.[1]
Doomer made two other drawings of the locality: a more close-up view, of the same date, now in the Lugt Collection, Fondation Custodia, Institut Néerlandais, Paris (Sumowski 405), and a 'View of the Drachenfels', also made on the Rhine journey, now in the Albertina, Vienna.[2]
    
NOTES:
[1] The history is related in Exh. Brussels-Rotterdam-Paris-Bern, 1968-9, p.43, quoting W. Einfeldt, 'Chronik der Burg Drachenfels', Munich, 1907, E. Renard, 'Kunstdenkmäler der Rheinprovinz', V, 4, 1907 and H. Neu, 'Der Drachenfels', Cologne, 1949.
[2] Schulz, 1974, no.219, repr. The Paris drawing is his no.218 and Exh. Paris-Haarlem, 1997, no.41, repr. in colour (which associates the Vienna drawing with that formerly in the Tonneman sale of 1754). Schulz, 1972 (see Lit. below), also points to other views of the same landscape made in the 1630s by Wenzel Hollar, and to an etching in 'Amoenissimi prospectui', London, 1643.

LITERATURE :

London, 1915, p.72, no.5, repr. pl.XXXVI; Hofstede de Groot, 1915[II], p.61 (inscription should be read 'Anssje' for 'Angers'); Hofstede de Groot and Spiess, 1926-7, p.198, repr. p.195, fig.18 (notes two related views [on which see above]); Haentjes, 1960, repr. p.58; Dattenberg, 1967, p.113, no.125, repr.; Exh. Brussels-Rotterdam-Paris-Bern, 1968-9, p.43, under no.39; Schulz, 1970, p.18, n.30 (listing drawings made on Rhine journey); Schulz, 1972, I, p.54 and II, no.308; Schulz, 1973, p.7; Schulz, 1974, p.23 and cat. no.217, fig.115; Sumowski, 1979 etc., II, no.404, repr.; Exh. Koblenz-Bonn, 1992, no.10, repr. p.157; Exh. Paris-Haarlem, 1997-8, under no.41.



Associated places
Topographic representation of Bad Godesberg (all objects)
(Europe,Germany,North Rhine-Westphalia (Germany),Cologne (region),Bonn,Bad Godesberg)
Topographic representation of Drachenfels (scope note | all objects)
(Europe,Germany,North Rhine-Westphalia (Germany),Siebengebirge,Drachenfels)


Acquisition date
1799

Acquisition name
Bequeathed by Clayton Mordaunt Cracherode (see Inscriptions; L.606 and 607) (biographical details | all objects)


Exhibition History
1992 Sept-Oct, Rheinische Landesmuseum, Bonn & Mittelrhein Museum, Koblenz, no 10


Noticed a mistake? Have some extra information about this object? Please contact us


To bookmark this page select "Bookmark this page" or "Add to favourites" from the web browser menu.


Loading...