- Museum number
Part of the South front of Windsor Castle; the round tower, as completed by Wyatville at left, with part of the front of the castle r. 1829
Pen and brown ink and watercolour
- Production date
Height: 379 millimetres
Width: 542 millimetres
- Curator's comments
- Jeffrey Wyatt, who in 1824 changed his name to Wyatville to distinguish himself from other members of his numerous family of architects, remodelled the upper ward and round tower of Windsor castle. He did so in the picturesque style, adhering to a strict brief, (after winning the competition in which Soan, Smirke and Nash also participated) between 1824-40. Initially George IV was his patron and he knighted Wyatville at Windsor when the royal apartments were completed in 1828.
(Text from Andrew Wilton, 'Royal Academy Draughtsmen 1769-1969', BMP, 1969, no.337) The completion of Windsor Castle was marked by the publication of two volumes of 'Illustrations of Windsor Castle by the late Sir Jeffrey Wyatville, RA' in 1841.
- Not on display
- Exhibition history
1987 Feb 5 - May 25, BM, 'An A-Z of P&D'
- Acquisition date
- Prints and Drawings
- Registration number