- Museum number
Cravat-pin, gold, the stem with central twist, the head set with a misshapen pearl in a box setting with a single small diamond at the front, the opposite side pierced to allow the light through. Contained in the original deep red leather-covered wood case, lined with blue velvet in the base and cream silk in the lid. The lid lining pirnted with the maker's trade label: JEWELLERS TO THE BRITISH MUSEUM / SPILLING BROS / GOLDSMITHS & JEWELLERS / 63 Gt RUSSELL St. BLOOMSBURY. LONDON. OPPOSITE THE BRITISH MUSEUM.
- Production date
Height: 9 centimetres (box)
Height: 6.60 centimetres (cravat-pin)
- Curator's comments
- Spilling Brothers are recorded in John Culme, 'The Dictionary of Gold & Silversmiths, Jewellers & Allied Traders, 1838-1914', 2 vols, Woodbridge, 1987, vol. 2, p. 428, as having premises at 61 Great Russell Street in 1881, and at number 63 Great Russell Street (the address on the case label) by 1897. Little else is known about the firm. However, the archives of the British Museum record that Spilling worked for the Museum between 1868 and 1877 to make settings for a large number of engraved gems, including gems from the Castellani collection. He was employed on four occasions (Dec 1868, Nov 1869, June 1872 and July 1877). In each case his employment was on the written recommendation of Mr Newton (Charles Newton, then Keeper of Greek and Roman Antiquities), and he was paid at the rate of £12 per 100 gems mounted. In June 1872 he mounted 150 gems in the recently acquired Castellani Collection and in July 1877 he mounted 100 Gnostic gems for the department of Greek and Roman Antiquities.
- Not on display
- The pearl may be a later replacement.
- Acquisition date
- Acquisition notes
- Inherited by Bridgette Ashworth from her aunt.
- Britain, Europe and Prehistory
- Registration number