- Museum number
Fish spear of wood, reed, gum, bone. Three long prongs are bound into the shaft. There is space in the shaft for a fourth prong (missing).
- Production date
- 19thC (early) (before 1844)
Length: 76 centimetres (prong)
Length: 270 centimetres
Width: 2.50 centimetres (shaft)
Width: 7 centimetres
Depth: 3 centimetres
- Curator's comments
As this object came from collection of Earl Moutnorris, it is likely it was collected by Frederick Bedwell, a midshipman on Phillip Parker King's voyages 1818-1821, who collected material for Mountnorris. See Siimpson 2021.
The end of the shaft appears split, and is perhaps missing part of the end.
Christy collection registration slip description, probably written in the 1860s:
'Port Jackson, N.S. Wales
Fizgig, used by the natives to spear fish. It consists of a thick reed shaft tapering from the head to the butt where it has another small piece of reed inserted in it and secured with gum. The head consists of four pieces of hard wood inserted into the head of the reed and likewise secured with gum. These wood heads seem to have been barbed with bone. Total length 11 ft.
from Arley Castle
A similar in Victoria, Paris Expn 1867'.
The Arley Castle reference indicates that this object was acquired from the sale of the contents of Arley Castle, Staffordshire, the property of Earl of Mountnorris, Viscount Valentia, which was held by Messrs Farebrother, Clark and Lye, 6th-21st December, 1852.
- Not on display
- Exhibition history
2015 23 Apr-2 Aug, London, BM, G35, Indigenous Australia: enduring civilisation
2015-2016 27 Nov-28 Mar, Canberra, National Museum of Australia, Encounters
- Acquisition date
- Acquisition notes
- It appears this object was acquired by Henry Christy from the Arley Castle collection sale in December 1852. After Christy's death in 1865 it came into the British Museum's collections as part of the Christy Collection bequest.
- Africa, Oceania and the Americas
- Registration number
- Additional IDs
CDMS number: Oc186?C1.944 (old CDMS no.)