Volunteers for
Museum Learning

The Marsh Trust Awards

The British Museum and the Marsh Christian Trust are pleased to announce that applications are now open for the eleventh annual Volunteers in Museum Learning Award.

The award celebrates the achievements and contribution of volunteers in museums, galleries and heritage sites all over the United Kingdom, recognising their dedication, innovation and excellence in engaging with the public.

Winners of the twelve regional awards will each receive a £500 prize. An overall national winner will also be chosen and they will receive an additional £2,000. Prizes will be awarded at a ceremony at the British Museum in September 2019. Applications should focus on the way in which an individual or small group of volunteers have engaged with the public, enhancing their learning and enjoyment.

To apply, please complete the application form, which can either be submitted electronically or in hard copy to the address below. Please also supply up to 5 photographs supporting your application. The closing date for submissions is Friday 5 July 2019.

If you would like any further information, please contact us on the details below.

Volunteers’ Office
The British Museum
Great Russell Street
London WC1B 3DG

0207 323 8853


National Winner: Ullapool Museum Group

D-Day Museum, Portsmouth (Normandy Veterans Society)

Previous awards