Moctezuma: Aztec Ruler events calendar

The full programme of events to accompany the exhibition Moctezuma: Aztec Ruler.


Friday 25 September 13.15 Moctezuma II: Mexica ruler Lunchtime lecture  
Tuesday 29 September 13.15 Object and image in prehispanic and colonial Mexico Gallery talk  
Thursday 1 October 13.00 Moors and Christians Lunchtime documentary  
  18.30 Aztec imperial art before the Spanish invasion Evening lecture £
Saturday 3 October 10.00–17.00 Stone carving Workshop £
  13.15 Curator's introduction to Moctezuma: Aztec Ruler Lunchtime talk S
Thursday 8 October 18.30 Moctezuma and the rites of world renewal Evening lecture £
Friday 9 October 13.15 British Museum documentary: Moctezuma Lunchtime documentary  
  18.30 Erendira Ikikunari Film £
Tuesday 13 October 13.15 The arts before and after Moctezuma    Gallery talk  
Thursday 15 October 13.15 British Museum documentary: Moctezuma Lunchtime documentary  
Friday 16 October 13.30 The conquest seen from different eyes Lunchtime reading  
  18.30 Music at the Royal Courts of Mexico and Spain Performance £
Friday 23 October 18.30 Amores Perros Film £
Saturday 24 October 15.00 & 16.30 Aztec music and dance Performance  
  13.15 Curator's introduction to Moctezuma: Aztec Ruler Lunchtime talk  
Monday 26 October 11.00–16.00 Mexico: past and present Family event  
Tuesday 27 October 11.00–16.00 Mexico: past and present Family event  
Wednesday 28 October 11.00–16.00 Mexico: past and present Family event  
  13.15 Objeto e imagen: México prehispánico y colonial  Gallery talk  
Thursday 29 October 11.00–16.00 Mexico: past and present Family event  
  18.00 Moctezuma's predecessors – in search of Mexica kings Evening lecture £
Friday 30 October 11.00–16.00 Mexico: past and present Family event  
  13.15 British Museum documentary: Moctezuma Lunchtime documentary  
  18.30 Day of the Dead double bill Films £
Saturday 31 October 13.15 Cortes and Moctezuma: a continuing enigma Lunchtime lecture  
Sunday 1 November 11.00–17.00 Day of the Dead Special event  
Thursday 5 November 13.30 Unknown Tribes of Mexico Lunchtime documentary  
  18.30 Mexican food evening Evening debate £
Thursday 12 November 15.30–17.00
18.30–20.00
Discover the art of the pictogram Talk £
Friday 13 November 13.30 Curator's introduction to Moctezuma: Aztec Ruler Talk S
  18.30 Y Tu Mama Tambien Evening film £
Saturday 14 November 13.15 British Museum documentary: Moctezuma Lunchtime documentary  
Wednesday 18 November 19.00 British Museum/Guardian public forum Evening debate £
Thursday 19 November 13.15 Commerce, trade and exploration in Aztec times Gallery talk  
Saturday 21 November 10.00–17.00 Moctezuma’s feast Study session £
Thursday 26 November 13.30 Mexican film double bill Lunchtime documentary  
Friday 27 November 13.30 Curator's introduction to Moctezuma: Aztec Ruler Talk  
  18.30 In the Pit Evening film £
  18.30 Aztec poetry and music Performance £
Saturday 28 November 13.00–14.00 Introduction to Mexican cookery Demonstration £
  13.15 British Museum documentary: Moctezuma Lunchtime documentary  
Friday 4 December 13.30 Curator's introduction to Moctezuma: Aztec Ruler Talk  
  18.30 Duck Season Evening film £
Saturday 5 December 11.00–17.00 Textile workshop Workshop £
Thursday 10 December 13.15 Reyes y nobles del México antiguo (in Spanish) Gallery talk  
Friday 11 December   Turquoise, Henry Christy and
museum collections:
an interdisciplinary conference
Conference £
  13.30 British Museum documentary: Moctezuma Lunchtime documentary  
Saturday 12 December   Turquoise, Henry Christy and
museum collections:
an interdisciplinary conference
Conference £
Sunday 13 December   Turquoise, Henry Christy and
museum collections:
an interdisciplinary conference
Conference £
Monday 21 December 11.00–13.00
14.00–16.00
Animate an Aztec codex Family activity  
Tuesday 22 December 11.00–13.00 14.00–16.00 Animate an Aztec codex Family activity  
Monday 28 December 11.00–13.00 14.00–16.00 Animate an Aztec codex Family activity  
Tuesday 29 December 11.00–13.00 14.00–16.00 Animate an Aztec codex Family activity  
Wednesday 30 December 11.00–13.00 14.00–16.00 Animate an Aztec codex Family activity  
Thursday 7 January 13.15 The search for Quetzalcoatl,
the Aztec feathered serpent deity
Lunchtime lecture  
Thursday 14 January 10.00–12.30 Moctezuma handling session for visually impaired people Access session  
  11.00–16.00 Tree of life sculpture demonstration Demonstration  
  18.30 The future of cities:
hazards and environmental change
Evening lecture £
Friday 15 January 2010 11.00–17.00 Mexican sculpture Workshop £
  13.30 British Museum documentary: Moctezuma Lunchtime documentary  
  18.30 Alquimia: music performance Performance £
Saturday 16 January 2010 11.00–17.00 Mexican sculpture Workshop £
  13.15 Curator's introduction to Moctezuma: Aztec Ruler Talk  
Sunday 17 January 11.00–16.00 Tree of life sculpture demonstration Demonstration  
Tuesday 19 January 13.15 Object and image:
pre-Hispanic and colonial Mexico
Gallery talk  
Thursday 21 January 18.30 The Spanish conquest and
its aftermath
Evening lecture £

S  sign interpreted 
£  event with charge

Share this page

  • Send
  • Share
  • Moctezuma feed

 

Images: Turquoise mosaic mask, c. 1500–1521, Mexica/Mixtec.
© The Trustees of the British Museum

Consejo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes logo Instituto Nacional de Antropologia e Historia logo Mexicana Airline partner logo
Turquoise Aztec mask