What just happened?

To celebrate Vikings Live, we have replaced our Roman alphabet with the runic alphabet used by the Vikings, the Scandinavian ‘Younger Futhark’. The ‘Younger Futhark’ has only 16 letters, so we have used some of the runic letters more than once or combined two runes for one Roman letter.

For an excellent introduction to runes, we recommend Martin Findell’s book published by British Museum Press.

More information about how we have ‘runified’ this site

 

Family events


November 2014

Friday 28 November

Saturday 29 November

Sunday 30 November

December 2014

Friday 5 December

Sunday 7 December

Monday 8 December

Saturday 13 December

Sunday 14 December

Saturday 20 December

  • 11.00

    Street art

Sunday 21 December

  • 11.00

    Street art

Monday 22 December

  • 11.00

    Street art

Saturday 27 December

  • 11.00

    Street art

Sunday 28 December

  • 11.00

    Street art

Monday 29 December

  • 11.00

    Street art

Tuesday 30 December

  • 11.00

    Street art

Wednesday 31 December

  • 11.00

    Street art

January 2015

Friday 2 January

  • 11.00

    Street art

Saturday 3 January

  • 11.00

    Street art

Sunday 4 January

  • 11.00

    Street art

Saturday 10 January

Saturday 17 January

Sunday 18 January

Saturday 24 January

Sunday 25 January

Thursday 29 January

Saturday 31 January

February 2015

Sunday 1 February

Saturday 7 February

Sunday 8 February

Saturday 14 February

Sunday 15 February

Monday 16 February

Tuesday 17 February

Wednesday 18 February

Thursday 19 February

Friday 20 February

Saturday 21 February

Sunday 22 February

Saturday 28 February