What just happened?

To celebrate Vikings Live, we have replaced our Roman alphabet with the runic alphabet used by the Vikings, the Scandinavian ‘Younger Futhark’. The ‘Younger Futhark’ has only 16 letters, so we have used some of the runic letters more than once or combined two runes for one Roman letter.

For an excellent introduction to runes, we recommend Martin Findell’s book published by British Museum Press.

More information about how we have ‘runified’ this site

 

Highlights


October 2014

Friday 24 October

Saturday 25 October

Sunday 26 October

Monday 27 October

Tuesday 28 October

Wednesday 29 October

Thursday 30 October

Friday 31 October

November 2014

Saturday 1 November

Sunday 2 November

Monday 3 November

Tuesday 4 November

Wednesday 5 November

Thursday 6 November

Friday 7 November

Saturday 8 November

Sunday 9 November

Monday 10 November

Tuesday 11 November

Wednesday 12 November

Thursday 13 November

Friday 14 November

Saturday 15 November

Sunday 16 November

Tuesday 18 November

Wednesday 19 November

Thursday 20 November

Friday 21 November

Saturday 22 November

Sunday 23 November

Next 30 days