What just happened?

To celebrate Vikings Live, we have replaced our Roman alphabet with the runic alphabet used by the Vikings, the Scandinavian ‘Younger Futhark’. The ‘Younger Futhark’ has only 16 letters, so we have used some of the runic letters more than once or combined two runes for one Roman letter.

For an excellent introduction to runes, we recommend Martin Findell’s book published by British Museum Press.

More information about how we have ‘runified’ this site


British Isles (Scope note)

The terms 'United Kingdom' or 'UK' are not entered in a Place field but are recorded, where required, in the Place Comment field. Brief history: 1707-1801: Kingdom of Great Britain (England, Scotland and Wales) 1801-1922: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (Kingdom of Great Britain merged with the Kingdom of Ireland) 1922-present: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (after formation of Irish Free State)