What just happened?

To celebrate Vikings Live, we have replaced our Roman alphabet with the runic alphabet used by the Vikings, the Scandinavian ‘Younger Futhark’. The ‘Younger Futhark’ has only 16 letters, so we have used some of the runic letters more than once or combined two runes for one Roman letter.

For an excellent introduction to runes, we recommend Martin Findell’s book published by British Museum Press.

More information about how we have ‘runified’ this site


HM Treasury (Biographical details)

HM Treasury (institution/organisation; British)

Also known as

HM Treasury; Treasury, HM


In 1993, responsibility for Treasure passed from H M Treasury to the Department of National Heritage which in 1997 became the Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) (q.v.).
Treasure Trove was replaced by the Treasure Act 1996, which came into force in September 1997 and so applies only to the acquisition of items found from this date onwards.
N.B. Treasure Trove Franchise: a few bodies like the Duchy of Lancaster or the City of Bristol own the relevant treasure trove franchise (a privilege given to them by the monarch in the middle ages, so formally (and actually) Treasure has be acquired from them rather from the DNH, Treasury or DCMS. There are not many cases, but there are certainly some. The acquisition method is the same, but the name is different.