What just happened?

To celebrate Vikings Live, we have replaced our Roman alphabet with the runic alphabet used by the Vikings, the Scandinavian ‘Younger Futhark’. The ‘Younger Futhark’ has only 16 letters, so we have used some of the runic letters more than once or combined two runes for one Roman letter.

For an excellent introduction to runes, we recommend Martin Findell’s book published by British Museum Press.

More information about how we have ‘runified’ this site


Royal Mint (Biographical details)

Royal Mint (institution/organisation; British; 800s)

Also known as

Royal Mint


The Royal Mint Llantrisant Pontyclun CF72 8YT United Kingdom


Originally established as a mint in London in the 9th century AD, one of many mints producing coins in the British Isles.

The Mint moved to the Tower of London in the later 13th century and gradually assumed monopoly over the issuing of coins in England and later United Kingdom.

In 1809 the Mint moved to a site adjacent to the Tower of London, and in 1968 to Llantrisant in Wales, although small numbers of commemorative and bullion coins continued to be struck at the London site until 1975.

Today the Royal Mint continues to produce the UK coinage as well as coins for countries all around the world.