Church Missionary Society (Biographical details)

Church Missionary Society (institution/organisation; British; 1799; founded. Still active)

Also known as

Church Missionary Society


Founded in Aldersgate Street, City of London, in 1799 as the Society for Missions in Africa and the East. William Wilberforce (q.v.) was one of the founding members and the Society's three main aims were the abolition of the slave trade, social reform at home and world evangelisation. In 1812, the Society was renamed the Church Missionary Society for Africa and the East, and it is currently known as the Church Mission Society. The Society's first overseas mission was in Sierra Leone (1804) and their work spread to, and continues in, various places across Africa, Asia, Australasia, the Middle East and North America.