The Muro-ji - An eighth century Japanese Temple - Its Art and History
- The Muro-ji - An eighth century Japanese Temple - Its Art and History
Photobook. One volume. First English edition.
- 1954 (ca.)
- Made in: Tokyo-to
The history of Muro-ji (Nara pref.) goes back to the seventh century. It was neglected for some time until the famous monk Kukai (774-835), the founder of the Shingon sect, had it rebuilt in 824. Of the buildings that exist today only the main hall and the pagoda date from the Heian period, while the Hall of the Maitreya and the Inner Cloister were added in the Kamakura period. Domon first visited this temple before the war (1939). It stayed with him. It is here that he developed his unique style of documenting architecture and sculpture. His hallmark of going close to the object and thus being able to enlarge it beyond life-size is practised here for the first time and shows him as a master of his art. (Titus Boeder, 4/07)
- Topographic representation of: Muro-ji
- PB.24 (Photobook number)
There is no image of this object, or there may be copyright restrictions
If you’ve noticed a mistake or have any further information about this object, please email: email@example.com
Object reference number: JCF16142
British Museum collection data is also available in the W3C open data standard, RDF, allowing it to join and relate to a growing body of linked data published by organisations around the world.
The Museum makes its collection database available to be used by scholars around the world. Donations will help support curatorial, documentation and digitisation projects.