Visiting information

Open daily 10.00–17.30
Fridays 10.00–20.30

Closing starts from 17.20 (20.20 on Fridays)

Please be aware that the Membership Office will be closed on Monday 2 May and will re-open on Tuesday 3 May. The Museum will remain open as usual.

If you have an urgent Membership enquiry during this time please check our Membership FAQ page or alternatively visit the Membership Desk in the Great Court.

Members do not need to book for our special exhibitions and just need to present their Membership cards at the exhibition entrance. If you need a temporary Membership card one can always be collected from the Membership Desk in the Great Court.

Members who are bringing luggage with them are encouraged to check the Museum’s cloakroom policies.

 

 

Upcoming exhibitions

Sicily: culture and conquest

21 April – 14 August 2016

A cultural centre of the ancient and medieval world, Sicily has been shaped by waves of conquest and settlement by different peoples over 4,000 years. Since the 7th century BC, Phoenicians, Greeks, Romans, Byzantines, Arabs and Normans all settled or invaded the island, lured by its fertile lands and strategic location. Over time, this series of conquests forged a cultural identity unlike any other. This exhibition tells Sicily’s fascinating stories – from the arrival of the Greeks and their encounters with the Phoenicians and other settlers, to the extraordinary period of enlightenment under Norman rule in the 11th to 13th centuries.

Please be aware of the dates for the scheduled school’s mornings before visiting the exhibitions. Members are still permitted access to the exhibitions at this time but please note noise levels may be higher than usual. The dates for these sessions are as follows:

Sicily: culture and conquest: Thu 5 – Fri 6 May, Thu 19 – Fri 20 May, Fri 10 Jun, Thu 16 Jun, Mon 27 Jun, Thu 30 Jun, Fri 1 Jul, Tue 5 Jul

 

The BP exhibition

Sunken cities: Egypt's lost worlds

19 May – 27 November 2016

Submerged under the sea for over a thousand years, two lost cities of ancient Egypt were recently rediscovered. Their story is told for the first time in this blockbuster exhibition. Vanished beneath the waters of the Mediterranean, the lost cities of Thonis-Heracleion and Canopus lay at the mouth of the Nile. Named after the Greek hero Heracles, Thonis-Heracleion was one of Egypt’s most important commercial centres for trade with the Mediterranean world and, with Canopus, was a major centre for the worship of the Egyptian gods. Their amazing discovery is transforming our understanding of the deep connections between the great ancient civilisations of Egypt and Greece.

Please be aware of the dates for the scheduled school’s mornings before visiting the exhibitions. Members are still permitted access to the exhibitions at this time but please note noise levels may be higher than usual. The dates for these sessions are as follows:

The BP exhibition Sunken cities: Egypt’s lost word: Tue 24 May, Mon 6  – Tue 7 Jun, Tue 14 Jun, Fri 17 Jun, Mon 20 Jun, Tue 28 Jun, Thu 30 Jun, Mon 4 Jul,  Fri 8 Jul, Wed 21 Sep, Tue 27 Sep, Thu 29 Sep, Mon 3 Oct, Wed 5 Oct, Tue 11 Oct, Tue 18 Oct, Thu 3 – Fri 4 Nov, Mon 7 Nov