What just happened?

To celebrate Vikings Live, we have replaced our Roman alphabet with the runic alphabet used by the Vikings, the Scandinavian ‘Younger Futhark’. The ‘Younger Futhark’ has only 16 letters, so we have used some of the runic letters more than once or combined two runes for one Roman letter.

For an excellent introduction to runes, we recommend Martin Findell’s book published by British Museum Press.

More information about how we have ‘runified’ this site

 

School digital session
Roman Britain treasure challenge video conference

Samsung Centre
Free, booking essential

Phone +44 (0)20 7323 8181
Ticket Desk in Great Court

Sponsored by Samsung

Sponsored by Samsung

Recommend this event

For Year 5 & 6 only

Connect to the Museum from your classroom to solve exciting challenges about archaeological treasure finds from Roman Britain. Students work through the real challenges faced by professional archaeologists, scientists and museum staff and learn what happens when someone discovers treasure.

To book, your school must have prior experience with video conferencing on the Janet network and you must provide contact details for a technical liaison at school.

Session lasts 90 minutes.

Cancellation and no-show charges apply. See full terms and conditions

Maximum group size: 30

Age: Key Stage 2 – Years 5 & 6

Download support notes

Coins from the Fishpool Hoard, Deposited about AD 1463-64, found at Fishpool, Nottinghamshire, England.


Session dates

July 2014

  • Monday 7 July 10.30 & 12.30
  • Thursday 17 July 10.30 & 12.30

October 2014

  • Thursday 2 October 10.30 & 12.30

November 2014

  • Friday 7 November 10.30 & 12.30
  • Monday 24 November 10.30 & 12.30

December 2014

  • Thursday 11 December 10.30 & 12.30

January 2015

  • Thursday 8 January 10.30 & 12.30
  • Thursday 29 January 10.30 & 12.30

March 2015

  • Thursday 5 March 10.30 & 12.30
  • Thursday 26 March 10.30 & 12.30

April 2015

  • Thursday 23 April 10.30 & 12.30

May 2015

  • Thursday 14 May 10.30 & 12.30

July 2015

  • Monday 6 July 10.30 & 12.30
  • Thursday 16 July 10.30 & 12.30

You might also like