What just happened?

To celebrate Vikings Live, we have replaced our Roman alphabet with the runic alphabet used by the Vikings, the Scandinavian ‘Younger Futhark’. The ‘Younger Futhark’ has only 16 letters, so we have used some of the runic letters more than once or combined two runes for one Roman letter.

For an excellent introduction to runes, we recommend Martin Findell’s book published by British Museum Press.

More information about how we have ‘runified’ this site

 

School gallery session
The Persian wars

Clore Centre for Education
Tickets £50

Phone +44 (0)20 7323 8181
Ticket Desk in Great Court

Recommend this event

For Key Stage 2 students

In the galleries your students will take on roles as Greek envoys, visit the court of the Persian king and meet the King Darius himself. By comparing the values of Greece and Persia they will experience how there are different points of view about historical events.

Cancellation and no-show charges apply. See full terms and conditions

Maximum group size: 30

Session lasts 90 minutes

Curriculum links: History

Age: Key Stage 2

Download support notes

Students meet King Darius and hear his account of the Persian Wars. © Benedict Johnson


Session dates

June 2015

  • Monday 8 June 10.30 & 12.30
  • Thursday 18 June 10.30 & 12.30

September 2015

  • Thursday 24 September 10.30 & 12.30
  • Friday 25 September 10.30 & 12.30

October 2015

  • Thursday 8 October 10.30 & 12.30

November 2015

  • Monday 2 November 10.30 & 12.30
  • Monday 16 November 10.30 & 12.30

February 2016

  • Monday 1 February 10.30 & 12.30
  • Thursday 25 February 10.30 & 12.30

March 2016

  • Friday 4 March 10.30 & 12.30

April 2016

  • Monday 18 April 10.30 & 12.30

May 2016

  • Thursday 12 May 10.30 & 12.30
  • Thursday 26 May 10.30 & 12.30

June 2016

  • Thursday 9 June 10.30 & 12.30

You might also like