School session
Museum maths

Clore Centre for Education
Tickets £40

Phone +44 (0)20 7323 8181
Ticket Desk in Great Court

Recommend this event

For Reception and KS1 students

Explore shape, pattern, colour and counting in the Museum’s African galleries. Your students will handle examples of African beadwork and apply their numeracy skills to create their own examples of maths inspired by African objects. Use the work created at the Museum to continue your learning back in the classroom.

Cancellation and no-show charges apply. See full terms and conditions

Maximum group: 30

Session time: 10.30–14.00, with 30 minutes for lunch at 12.00–12.30

Curriculum links: Numeracy

Age: Key Stage 1

Download support notes

A young student investigates shapes before searching for them in the galleries during a 'Museum maths' session.


Session dates

May 2015

  • Thursday 21 May 10.30

June 2015

  • Thursday 11 June 10.30
  • Monday 29 June 10.30

July 2015

  • Thursday 9 July 10.30

September 2015

  • Monday 28 September 10.30

October 2015

  • Monday 19 October 10.30

November 2015

  • Monday 30 November 10.30

December 2015

  • Thursday 3 December 10.30

January 2016

  • Thursday 21 January 10.30

February 2016

  • Monday 8 February 10.30
  • Monday 29 February 10.30

March 2016

  • Monday 21 March 10.30

April 2016

  • Friday 22 April 10.30

May 2016

  • Thursday 5 May 10.30
  • Friday 13 May 10.30
  • Friday 27 May 10.30

June 2016

  • Monday 20 June 10.30
  • Tuesday 21 June 10.30

You might also like