What just happened?

To celebrate Vikings Live, we have replaced our Roman alphabet with the runic alphabet used by the Vikings, the Scandinavian ‘Younger Futhark’. The ‘Younger Futhark’ has only 16 letters, so we have used some of the runic letters more than once or combined two runes for one Roman letter.

For an excellent introduction to runes, we recommend Martin Findell’s book published by British Museum Press.

More information about how we have ‘runified’ this site

 

School exhibition session
School-exclusive mornings for the BP exhibition Ming: 50 years that changed China

British Museum
Free, booking essential

Phone +44 (0)20 7323 8181
Ticket Desk in Great Court

Recommend this event

For Key Stages 2, 3, 4 and Years 12/13

Enjoy the exhibition with your students on one of the school exclusive mornings. Teacher-led visits to the exhibition on a school exclusive morning are supported by free resources which can be downloaded here from July. These mornings are not facilitated by British Museum staff.

Cancellation and no-show charges apply. See full terms and conditions

Session lasts 2 hours

Age: Key Stages 2, 3 & 4

A cloisonné jar, decorated with dragons and imperial mark. China, Ming dynasty, Xuande mark and period, 1426–1435.


Session dates

September 2014

  • Friday 26 September 10.00
  • Monday 29 September 10.00

October 2014

  • Thursday 2 October 10.00
  • Thursday 9 October 10.00
  • Thursday 16 October 10.00

November 2014

  • Thursday 20 November 10.00

December 2014

  • Monday 1 December 10.00
  • Thursday 4 December 10.00
  • Thursday 11 December 10.00
  • Thursday 18 December 10.00

You might also like