What just happened?

To celebrate Vikings Live, we have replaced our Roman alphabet with the runic alphabet used by the Vikings, the Scandinavian ‘Younger Futhark’. The ‘Younger Futhark’ has only 16 letters, so we have used some of the runic letters more than once or combined two runes for one Roman letter.

For an excellent introduction to runes, we recommend Martin Findell’s book published by British Museum Press.

More information about how we have ‘runified’ this site

 

School session
An African story for young writers

Clore Centre for Education
Tickets £40

Phone +44 (0)20 7323 8181
Ticket Desk in Great Court

Recommend this event

For Reception and KS1 students

Through storytelling and object handling explore how stories are written and received. This session includes time in the African galleries where students will look for objects to inspire them to finish their own story. Use the work created at the Museum to continue your learning back in the classroom.

Cancellation and no-show charges apply. See full terms and conditions

Maximum group: 30

Session time: 10.30 -14.00, with 30 minutes for lunch at 12.00–12.30

Curriculum links: Literacy

Age: Key Stage 1

Download support notes

African tales workshop © Benedict Johnson


Session dates

June 2015

  • Friday 5 June 10.30
  • Friday 19 June 10.30

September 2015

  • Friday 18 September 10.30

October 2015

  • Friday 2 October 10.30

November 2015

  • Friday 13 November 10.30

December 2015

  • Friday 11 December 10.30

January 2016

  • Friday 15 January 10.30
  • Friday 29 January 10.30

February 2016

  • Friday 26 February 10.30

March 2016

  • Friday 11 March 10.30

April 2016

  • Monday 11 April 10.30
  • Thursday 21 April 10.30
  • Thursday 28 April 10.30

May 2016

  • Monday 23 May 10.30

June 2016

  • Friday 10 June 10.30
  • Friday 24 June 10.30

You might also like