What just happened?

To celebrate Vikings Live, we have replaced our Roman alphabet with the runic alphabet used by the Vikings, the Scandinavian ‘Younger Futhark’. The ‘Younger Futhark’ has only 16 letters, so we have used some of the runic letters more than once or combined two runes for one Roman letter.

For an excellent introduction to runes, we recommend Martin Findell’s book published by British Museum Press.

More information about how we have ‘runified’ this site

 

Samsung
Digital
Discovery
Centre

#SamsungCentre

Sponsored by
Samsung Electronics logo

British Museum events

All events 
Family events 
School sessions 

School sessions


April 2014

Thursday 24 April

Monday 28 April

  • 10.30

    Greek temples

  • 12.30

    Greek temples

May 2014

Thursday 1 May

Friday 2 May

Thursday 8 May

Friday 9 May

  • 10.30

    Greek temples

  • 12.30

    Greek temples

Monday 12 May

Thursday 15 May

Friday 16 May

  • 10.30

    Greek temples

  • 12.30

    Greek temples

Monday 19 May

Thursday 22 May

Friday 23 May

  • 10.30

    Greek temples

  • 12.30

    Greek temples

June 2014

Monday 2 June

  • 10.30

    Greek temples

  • 12.30

    Greek temples

Friday 6 June

Monday 9 June

Thursday 12 June

Friday 13 June

  • 10.30

    Greek temples

  • 12.30

    Greek temples

Monday 16 June

Thursday 19 June

Friday 20 June

Thursday 26 June

Friday 27 June

  • 10.30

    Greek temples

  • 12.30

    Greek temples

Monday 30 June

July 2014

Monday 7 July

Thursday 10 July

Friday 11 July

  • 10.30

    Greek temples

  • 12.30

    Greek temples

Thursday 17 July

Friday 18 July