The 250th Anniversary Medal

Anniversary MedalThe British Museum's Anniversary Medal

The British Museum, founded in 1753, has issued a medal to commemorate its 250th anniversary. Four internationally known contemporary British artists were invited to submit designs for the medal. Selected for their strong national and international profiles, their work's engagement with different world cultures, and their shared appreciation of the cultural value of the British Museum, they are Stephen Cox, John Maine RA, Cathy de Monchaux, and Tom Phillips RA.

A panel of experts - Mark Jones, director of the Victoria and Albert Museum and medal historian; Katharine Eustace, curator of the 20th-century collection of the National Portrait Gallery and member of the Royal Mint Advisory Committee; and Philip Attwood, curator of medals in the British Museum and editor of The Medal, the British Art Medal Society's journal, chose John Maine's designs as the basis of the British Museum's medal.

The exhibition Celebrating The British Museum: John Maine's Anniversary Medal (Room 69a) runs from 15 January until 15 June 2003. Included in it are the medal itself, the designs of all four artists, and a group of objects from the museum's collections that informed John Maine's design and have been selected by the artist.