Utagawa Hiroshige, 'Evening bell at Mii Temple' (Mii banshō), a colour woodblock print

Edo period, around AD 1834

From the series 'From the Eight Views of Lake Biwa' (ōmi hakkei no uchi)

The 'Eight Views of Lake Biwa' (near Kyoto) were first established in the medieval period as Japanese equivalents of Eight Views of the Xiao and Xiang Rivers, long celebrated in Chinese literature and painting.

Following the enormous success of his first great landscape series 'Fifty-Three Stations along the Tōkaidō Highway' (Tōkaidō gojūsan-tsugi no uchi), Hiroshige (1797-1858) designed this series for the same publishers, Takenouchi Magohachi and Yamamoto Heikichi. The feeling of the ōmi series is quite different. Appropriate to the 'classical' subject, the designs have an austere grandeur, with human interest, such an important feature of Hiroshige's work, kept to a minimum.

In 1500 when the ōmi theme was first adopted by Japanese artists, Prince Konoe Masaie and his son chose a classical poem to match each scene. To complete his work, Hiroshige has included the poems. This one reads:

Omou mono
Akatsuki chigiru
Hajime zo to
Mazu kiku Mii no
Iri-ai no kane

Lovers think
'So begin our
dawn vows'
When first they hear
The evening bell of Mii Temple

Find in the collection online

More information


L. Smith, V. Harris and T. Clark, Japanese art: masterpieces in (London, The British Museum Press, 1990)


Height: 252.000 mm
Width: 382.000 mm

Museum number

Asia JA 1907.5-31.591


Samuel Tuke Collection


Find in the collection online

Search highlights

There are over 4,000 highlight objects to explore